Squidoo Web Companions

Websites and Blogs with Companion Squidoo Lenses

Maximizing Your Charitable Efforts on Squidoo!

Squidooers are a charitable bunch, no question about it! With the close of the Superheroes Contest, and the terrific response from lensmasters, you can tell that bunches of us care very deeply about our charities and do our best to benefit them!

Now that that contest is over, I’d like to talk about some little known ways that you can use your Squidooing to really help charities, that many folks don’t know about.

First thing- did you know that volunteering for a non-profit helps them at a value of $17 per hour (in 2004 figures- the last time I was responsible to know that)?

Yes, Squidooers, $17 an hour or more for your charity just by donating your time. More even than that, if your charity seeks out funding from someplace like the Kellogg Foundation, your hours working for them at that price increases their chances of getting an in-kind financial donation?

In kind donations are EXTREMELY IMPORTANT for nearly EVERY charity you can think of. By accumulating volunteer time, say 2,000 hours, valued at $17 per hour, the charity can seek in-kind money from many organizations to the tune of $34,000 CASH.

Why am I telling you this? Because this is a wonderful way for you to maximize your time spent Squidooing!

Make a page about or for your favorite charity. Then, donate it TO that charity at market rates- I think Tiffany Dow and Lewis Smile are advertising somewhere in the area of $500 per lens? In addition, you may include the value of each lens TO SQUIDOO, which (last time I looked) was about $250. Therefore, your donation would begin with about $750 per lens, that they can use as an in-kind donation.

Doing this is a tax deduction for you, unlike donating directly through Squidoo which you may want.

Here’s where the $17 per hour time comes in. You ALSO donate your time that you spend building and maintaining that (those) lenses for that charity. Just report your time to that charity each month and they’ll do the rest.

If the charity has a paypal account, the payments for those pages should pay directly into the charity. Each month of that payout is additional income for that charity.

Now, if you do NOT itemize your deductions, doing this won’t help you, but the charity will still benefit and they’ll make excellent use of the hours of time you spend on their pages.

If you do itemize your deductions, then this is much preferred as you can then take a deduction on YOUR tax bill.

So, consider ways to maximize your charitable activities with Squidoo. In this economy, they can use every bit of help they can get!

Edit: Yes.  Create a new account with a paypal email for your charity.

Transfer the lens to the new account that pays them directly.

Send a statement to the charity of your donation of the lens(es) and the value, which I estimate at this time to be between $750 & $1000

Thereafter, as you maintain or upgrade the page, keep track of your hours and send a statement of your volunteer hours on a monthly or quarterly statement.  The charity can value those hours at about $17 per hour for purposes of seeking in-kind matching grants.

If you create more lenses for the charity account, wash, rinse and repeat!

The duplicates of the statements you send can be provided to your accountant for your charitable deduction.

9 comments on “Maximizing Your Charitable Efforts on Squidoo!

  1. JaguarJulie
    July 2, 2008

    Margaret — this is a most interesting dissertation on the charitable aspects of what we Squidoo lensmasters do with our lenses that benefit and promote charities. I personally have authored a lens to benefit and promote FCNMHP — First Coast No More Homeless Pets. They are now listed as a charity on the charity list. So, I earmark that lens and a number of others to benefit them. I’m sharing this post with our accountant to look into the in-kind donation aspect. Wow, $17/hr. Wish I was making that off my Squidoo lenses — a girl can hope!

  2. Jack Lee
    July 2, 2008

    Margaret, thanks for the info. This is very encouraging and I hope more people will donate their time and energy to charities. Besides donating all my proceeds from Squidoo to charity, I also volunteer P/T at the Westchester Archives and I work at a non-profit organization at Jawonio. It is so much more rewarding work. -Jack

  3. Frankie Kangas
    July 2, 2008

    Wow! Great information. If I’m following you correctly, by donating the lens to my charity, say, NWF, you mean I transfer the lens to them, then I can continue to update and maintain it. Is that right? On Are You Polar Bear Aware? I am donating 50% to NWF and 50% to Polar Bears International (not approved yet, but I send them an estimate) so it sounds like I’d actually have to donate it to 1 charity and donate different lens to the other. This is huge! Thank you so much for sharing. I’m with JaguarJulie, wish I could make $17/hr on my Squidoo lenses! Bear hugs.

  4. Federal Watch
    July 3, 2008

    Thank you for this great post! I also received an email about this from Squidoo..I think this is an awesome way of bringing people together to do some charity works..^^ Way to go Squidoo!

  5. Kim Giancaterino
    July 3, 2008

    I like this idea very much. For example, Asante Africa Foundation isn’t on Squidoo’s charity list, so I’m just calculating and donating proceeds to them myself. Are you saying I could use a separate Paypal email and send the lens proceeds directly to Asante? That would be even better. Thanks for bringing this to my attention.

  6. Janet
    July 3, 2008

    Great new concept on how lensmasters can further help their charities. I will definitely look into this. Thanks for the insightful post.

  7. Lewis
    July 4, 2008

    It’s $247 per lens 🙂 at buildmylens.com.

    This is a post worthy of lifehacker.com!

  8. Kathie
    October 24, 2008

    Great info! I just wish I had read it earlier in the day! I will definately be back to see how the boys and I can help! You are too cool.

  9. Kathie
    October 24, 2008

    sorry…I put the wrong email. This is the right one

Leave a Reply

